Aunts & Windmills

Aunts & Windmills

Stories from My Past

Aunts & Windmills is currently out of print.

In this charming book, Pauline O’Regan, the author of A Changing Order, turns her characteristic warmth and wit onto the world of her childhood.

Accounts of climbing windmills and other adventures growing up in a West Coast farming community are interspersed with meditations on the religious faith that led her to become an activist nun working in the Christchurch community. By turns exuberant and contemplative, it paints a touching portrait of a child discovering the delights of life and the mysteries of adulthood.

Table of contents

Aunts and Windmills
Rules and Rivers
Rounders and Rugby
Wakes and Funerals
Earthquakes and Mrs Walker
Politics and Monsters
Democracy and Divine Right
News of the World
Biology and Sweetbreads
Racecards and Equality
Drovers and Drivers
'Sunset and Evening Star'
Aunty Mary and Prayers for the Dying
Back to Basics
Exams and Morality
Charms, Omens, Dreams
Mrs Yellowlees
Trains and Jean Batten
The French and the Irish
Rites of Passage
Rosaries and Mission Sermons
Pilgrimage and Hope

Print publication:
Ebook publication: Dec 2018
Pages: 167
ISBN: 9780908912018
ISTC: A02201200002109D
DOI: 10.7810/9780908912018