The Judith Binney Trust has announced the inaugural Judith Binney Fellowship, awarded to Dr Dr. Nēpia Mahuika (Ngāti Porou). Ryan Bodman, Morgan Godfery (Ngāti Awa, Samoa) and Dr. Melissa Matutina Williams (Te Rarawa, Ngāti Maru) will also hold Judith Binney Writing Awards in 2019.

Congratulations to all the BWB writers acknowledged in the 2019 New Year Honours list, especially Sir Kim Workman QSO KNZM, Professor Alison Jones MNZM, and Dr Siouxsie Wiles MNZM. We are proud to celebrate this recognition of your work.

The He Tohu books have won 'Best Student Resource - Secondary' in the Copyright Licensing NZ 2018 Education Awards.
Tāngata Ngāi Tahu: People of Ngāi Tahu has won the 2018 Heritage Non-fiction Book Awards.
Three new BWB titles are being released this week: Government for the Public Good by Max Rashbrooke, Ko Taranaki Te Maunga by Rachel Buchanan and False Divides by Lana Lopesi.